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1. Introduction 
 

These materials are designed to provide the sheriffs of North Carolina and their staff with the federal 

and State laws for registering and monitoring certain sex offenders in North Carolina.  It will also 

provide sheriffs with basic information on the restrictions placed on particular offenders who are 

registered, as well as what information regarding the registry is public record.  These materials are 

intended to be a reference guide.  This publication is not legal advice. Questions on the application of 

these laws to a certain scenario should be addressed to your legal counsel and/or district attorney. 

 

2. Purpose of North Carolina’s Registration 
Programs  

G.S. § 14-208.5 
 

The purpose of North Carolina’s Sex Offender and Public Protection Registration Programs is to assist 

law enforcement agencies' efforts to protect communities by requiring persons who are convicted of 

sex offenses, or of certain other offenses committed against minors, to register with law enforcement 

agencies, to require the exchange of relevant information about those offenders among law 

enforcement agencies, and to authorize the access to necessary and relevant information about those 

offenders to others. 

 

3. Who is Required to Register?  
 

Four groups of persons may be required to register on the public registry: 

 

1. Residents who have a “reportable conviction.”  This applies to residents with a North Carolina 

conviction (G.S. § 14-208.7(a)); 

 

2. Persons who have a “reportable conviction” in another state and move to North Carolina from 

outside the State or are present in the State for 15 days (G.S. § 14-208.7(a)); 

 

3. Nonresident students who have a “reportable conviction” or are required to register in their 

state of residency (G.S. § 14-208.7(a1)); and  

 

4. Nonresident workers who have a “reportable conviction” or are required to register in their 

state of residency (G.S. § 14-208.7(a1)). 

 

4. Reportable Convictions and Effective Dates 
 

A resident, nonresident student, or nonresident worker who has a “reportable conviction” must register 

provided their offense meets the relevant effective date requirement.  The General Assembly has 

specified the effective date requirements in the various session laws that enacted and modified the Sex 
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Offender and Public Protection Registration Programs over the years.1 Before registering someone, 

the sheriff’s office must confirm that the person is required to register.  This means you must confirm 

the person was: 1) convicted of a crime that requires registration; and 2) the crime or conviction 

occurred on or after the effective date for that crime.  The charts below will assist with this 

determination. 

 

4.1 North Carolina Convictions that are Registerable and their Effective 
Dates  
G.S. §§ 14-208.6(4)(a), 14-208.6(4)(d), and 14-208.6(4)(e) 

 

1. An “offense against a minor” is a reportable conviction.  “Offense against a minor” is defined 

by G.S. § 14-208.6(1m) to include the following offenses if the offense is committed against 

a minor (a person who is less than 18 years old), and the person committing the offense is not 

the minor’s parent.  For these purposes, “parent” means biological or adoptive parent with 

parental rights.  State v. Stanley, 205 N.C. App. 707, 697 S.E.2d 389 (2010). 

 

G.S. §  Offense Against a Minor Effective Date 

14-39 Kidnapping  EFFECTIVE April 1, 1998.  (S.L. 1997-

516 does not specify whether the offense 

date, date of conviction, or another 

triggering event must occur on or after 

April 1, 1998.  At the very least, it applies 

to offenses COMMITTED on or after that 

date.) 

 

 

14-41 Abduction of Children  

14-43.3  Felonious Restraint  

 

2. A “sexually violent offense” is a reportable conviction.  “Sexually violent offense” is 

defined by G.S. § 14-208.6(5) to include violations of: 

 

G.S. §  Sexually Violent Offense Effective Date 

14-27.2 (Former) First Degree Rape Convicted or released from penal institution on or 
after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-27.2A (Former) Rape of a Child; Adult Offender 
Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2008. 

14-27.3 (Former) Second Degree Rape Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-27.4 (Former) First Degree Sexual Offense 
Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-27.4A (Former) Sexual Offense with a child; adult 

offender 
Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2008. 

 
1 Several relevant session laws are cited in this publication as [S.L.__-__].  Session laws may be accessed via the North Carolina 

General Assembly’s Website at http://www.ncleg.net/. 
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G.S. §  Sexually Violent Offense Effective Date 

14-27.5 (Former) Second Degree Sexual Offense Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-27.5A (Former) 

 

Sexual Battery Offense COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2005. 

14-27.6 (Former) Attempted Rape or Sexual Offense 

(Repealed in 1994) 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-27.7 (Former) Intercourse and Sexual Offense with 

Certain Victims 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-27.7A(a) (Former) 

 

Statutory Rape or Sexual Offense of 

a Person Who is 13, 14, or 15 Years 

of Age, Where the Defendant is at 

Least Six (6) Years Older 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2006. 

14-27.21 First Degree Forcible Rape  Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.22 Second Degree Forcible Rape Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.23 Statutory Rape of a Child; Adult 

Offender 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.24 First Degree Statutory Rape EFFECTIVE Dec. 1, 2015. (S.L. 2017-102 does not 

specify whether the offense date, date of conviction, 

or another triggering event must occur on or after 

December 1, 2015.  At the very least, it applies to 

offenses COMMITTED on or after that date.) 

14-27.25(a) Statutory Rape of victim 15 years old 

or younger by defendant at least 6 

years older than victim  

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.26 First Degree Forcible Sexual Offense Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.27 Second Degree Forcible Sexual 

Offense 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.28 Statutory Sexual Offense with a child 

by an Adult 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.29 First Degree Statutory Sexual Offense Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.30(a) Statutory Sexual Offense of victim 15 

years old or younger by defendant at 

least 6 years older than victim  

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-27.31 Sexual Activity by a Substitute Parent 

or Custodian  

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 
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G.S. §  Sexually Violent Offense Effective Date 

14-27.32 Sexual Activity with a Student Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015.  

14-27.33 Sexual Battery Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2015. 

14-43.11 Human Trafficking if victim is less 

than 18 or with intent for sexual 

servitude 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2013. 

14-43.13 

 

Subjecting or Maintaining a Person 

for Sexual Servitude 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2006. 

14-178 Incest Between Near Relatives Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-190.6 Employing or Permitting Minor to 

Assist in Offenses Against Public 

Morality and Decency 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-190.9(a1) Felony Indecent Exposure Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2005. 

14-190.16 First Degree Sexual Exploitation of a 

Minor 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-190.17 Second Degree Sexual Exploitation of 

a Minor 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-190.17A Third Degree Sexual Exploitation of a 

Minor 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-190.18 (Former) Promoting Prostitution of a Minor Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-190.19 (Former) Participating in Prostitution of a 

Minor 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-202.1 Taking Indecent Liberties with 

Children 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Jan. 1, 1996. 

14-202.3 

 

Solicitation of a Child by Computer 

to Commit an Unlawful Sex Act 

Offense COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2005. 

14-202.4(a) 

 

Indecent Liberties with a Student Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Dec. 1, 2009. 

14-205.2(c-d) Patronizing a prostitute who is a 

minor or mentally disabled  

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Oct. 1, 2013. 
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G.S. §  Sexually Violent Offense Effective Date 

14-205.3(b) Prostitution of minor or mentally 

disabled 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Oct. 1, 2013. 

   

14-318.4(a1) 

 

Parent or Caretaker Commit or Permit 

Act of Prostitution with or by a 

Juvenile 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Dec. 1, 2008. 

14-318.4(a2) 

 

Commission or Allowing Sexual Act 

upon a Juvenile by Parent or 

Guardian 

Convicted or released from penal institution on or 

after Dec. 1, 2008. 

 

3. North Carolina Convictions involving Aiding & Abetting, Attempt, Conspiracy, and 

Solicitation. 

 

Title Offense Effective Date 

Aiding & Abetting  

 

A final conviction for aiding and abetting an 

“offense against a minor” or “sexually violent 

offense” is a reportable conviction only if the 

court sentencing the individual finds that 

registration of that individual furthers the 

purposes of the registry G.S. § 14-208.5. 

   

G.S. §§ 14-208.6(1m), 14-208.6(4)(a), 14-

208.6(5); [S.L. 1999-363, § 1] 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 

1, 1999. 

 

*If underlying offense has later effective 

date, use the effective date of that offense. 

Attempt A final conviction for an attempt to commit an 

“offense against a minor” or a “sexually 

violent offense” is a reportable conviction.  

 

G.S. § 14-208.6(4)(a) 

[S.L. 1997-516, § 1] 

EFFECTIVE April 1, 1998.  (S.L. 1997-

516 does not specify whether the offense 

date, date of conviction, or another 

triggering event must occur on or after 

April 1, 1998.  At the very least, it applies 

to offenses COMMITTED on or after that 

date.) 

 

*If underlying offense has later effective 

date, use the effective date of that offense.

  

Conspiracy or Solicitation 

 

“Offense against a minor” includes a 

solicitation or conspiracy to commit an 

“offense against a minor.”  “Sexually violent 

offense” includes a solicitation or conspiracy 

to commit a "sexually violent offense."  

 

G.S. §§ 14-208.6(1m), 14-208.6(5) [S.L. 

1999-363, § 1] 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 

1, 1999. 

 

*If underlying offense has later effective 

date, use the effective date of that offense. 
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4. Secretly Peeping/Unlawful Sale, Surrender, or Purchase of a Minor. 

 

G.S. §  Offense Effective Date 

14-202 (a) or (c) 

[S.L. 2003-303, § 3] 

 

Secretly Peeping 

 

Will be a reportable conviction only for a 

second or subsequent conviction and only if 

the court sentencing the individual issues an 

order pursuant to 14-202(l) requiring the 

individual to register. 

Only for a second or subsequent 

conviction, if the second or subsequent 

offense was COMMITTED on or after 

Dec. 1, 2003 and the court sentencing the 

individual issues an order pursuant to 14-

202(l) requiring the individual to register. 

14-202 (a1) 

[S.L. 2004-109; §§ 7-9] 

 

Secretly Peeping 

 

Will be a reportable conviction only for a 

second or subsequent conviction and only if 

the court sentencing the individual issues an 

order pursuant to 14-202(l) requiring the 

individual to register. 

Only for a second or subsequent 

conviction, if that offense was 

COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2004 

and the court sentencing the individual 

issues an order pursuant to 14-202(l) 

requiring the individual to register. 

14-202 (d), (e), (f), (g) or (h)  

[S.L. 2003-303, §§ 1-3] 

 

Secretly Peeping 

 

Will be a reportable conviction only if the 

court sentencing the individual issues an 

order pursuant to 14-202(l) requiring the 

individual to register. 

Only for offenses that were 

COMMITTED on or after Dec. 1, 2003 

and the court sentencing the individual 

issues an order pursuant to 14-202(l) 

requiring the individual to register.  

14-43.14 

[S.L. 2012-153, §§ 1, 3, 8] 

Unlawful Sale, Surrender or Purchase of 

Minor 

Will be reportable conviction only if the 

court sentencing the individual issues an 

order pursuant to 14-43.14(e) requiring the 

individual to register. 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Dec. 

1, 2012. 

 

5. A final conviction in a State court-martial proceeding imposing confinement for any 

offense which is substantially similar to an offense against a minor or a sexually violent 

offense is a reportable conviction.   
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4.2 Convictions from Other States that are Registerable 
 

G.S. §  Basis of Reportable Conviction Effective Date 

14-208.6(4)(b) A final conviction in another state of an offense, which if 

committed in this State, is substantially similar to “an 

offense against a minor” or a “sexually violent offense” is 

a reportable conviction.  Includes conspiracy or 

solicitation to commit any of these offenses and aiding 

and abetting any of these offenses.  

Use effective date for underlying 

substantially similar “offense against a 

minor” or “sexually violent offense.” 

 

 

14-208.6(4)(b) A final conviction in another state of an offense that 

requires registration under the sex offender registration 

laws of that state is a reportable conviction.  Includes 

ANY offense that requires registration in the state of 

conviction. 

Applies to individuals who MOVE into 

North Carolina on or after Dec. 1, 2006.   

 

 

14-208.6(4)(b) 

 

[S.L. 2010-174, § 

16] 

A final conviction in another state of an offense that 

requires registration under the sex offender registration 

laws of that state is a reportable conviction.  Includes 

ANY offense that requires registration in state of 

conviction. 

 

 

Applies to individuals who: 

1) moved into North Carolina prior to 

Dec. 1, 2006; and  

2) met or meet at least one of the   

following conditions on or after Oct. 

1, 2010: 

a. required to register in N.C. 

based on another conviction; 

or  

b. served an active sentence for 

any offense; or 

c. is on supervised probation, 

parole, or post-release 

supervision for any offense; or 

d. convicted of any felony. 

 

4.3 Federal Convictions that are Registerable 
 

G.S. §  Basis of Reportable Conviction Effective Date 

14-208.6(4)(c) 

[S.L. 1997-15, §§ 2-

3] 

 

A final conviction in a federal jurisdiction for an offense 

which is substantially similar to an “offense against a 

minor,” or a “sexually violent offense” is a reportable 

conviction. Includes conspiracy or solicitation to 

commit any of these offenses and aiding and abetting 

any of these offenses.  

Convicted or released from a penal 

institution on or after April 3, 1997. 

 

*If underlying offense has later effective 

date, use the effective date of that 

offense. 

14-208.6(4)(c) 

[S.L. 2001-373, §§ 

1, 12] 

A final conviction in a court martial for an offense which 

is substantially similar to an “offense against a minor,” or 

a “sexually violent offense” is a reportable conviction. 

Includes conspiracy or solicitation to commit any of 

these offenses and aiding and abetting any of these 

offenses. 

Offenses COMMITTED on or after Oct. 

1, 2001.  
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4.4 Whether a Conviction for an Offense in an Out-of-State or Federal 

Jurisdiction is “Substantially Similar” to a North Carolina Offense.   
G.S. §§ 14-208.12B, 7A-451 [S.L. 2020-83] 

 

In 2020, the North Carolina General Assembly enacted due process measures for the determination of 

whether an offender’s out-of-state conviction or federal conviction is substantially similar to a North 

Carolina sexually violent offense or an offense against a minor (which would then require the person to 

register as a sex offender in North Carolina).  This was prompted by a federal lawsuit, Grabarczyk v. Stein, 

et al., which without legislative action, would have removed many sex offenders from the North Carolina 

Sex Offender Registry (SOR) who were placed on the SOR due to an out-of-state conviction or a federal 

conviction that is “substantially similar” to a North Carolina sexually violent offense or an offense against 

a minor. 

 

The North Carolina General Assembly enacted G.S. § 14-208.12B [S.L. 2020-83, § 11.5] to ensure due 

process is afforded to a sex offender before they are required to register in North Carolina based on a 

“substantially similar offense” determination described above.  No formal, statewide process for this 

determination existed under North Carolina law prior to 2020. 

 

Beginning August 1, 2020, if the sheriff determines a person must register as a sex offender based upon a 

an out-of-state conviction or federal conviction substantially similar to a North Carolina sexually violent 

offense or an offense against a minor, G.S. § 14-208.12B requires the sheriff to notify the sex offender of 

their right to petition the court for a judicial determination of the requirement to register.  The sheriff must 

also provide notice to the district attorney.   

 

G.S. § 14-208.12B requires the sheriff to serve notice on the sex offender and district attorney in one of the 

following ways: 

 

1. Any method of service provided in G.S. § 1A-1, Rule 4(j) (such as in-person notice or notice by 

registered or certified mail); or 

 

2. Notice by any other means that the receiving individual consented to in writing. 

 

Once notified, the sex offender has the option to file a petition for judicial review in superior court within 

30 days of receiving the notice in the county where the sex offender resides using form AOC-CR-259.  If 

the sex offender files a petition for judicial review, the sex offender is required to serve a copy of the petition 

on the sheriff and the district attorney within three days of filing the petition with the clerk of court.2  

 

A sex offender who has properly filed the above-described petition may not be charged with failure to 

register until the petition is decided by the court.  G.S. § 14-208.12B(e). 

 

The hearing will occur before a superior court judge presiding in the district where the sex offender resides 

and will be limited solely to a determination of whether or not the person's out-of-state conviction or federal 

conviction is substantially similar to a North Carolina sexually violent offense or an offense against a minor.   

 

The district attorney has the burden of showing that the out-of-state or federal conviction is for a crime that 

is substantially similar to a North Carolina crime that requires registration.  

 
2 If the sex offender has been properly notified as described above and fails to file a petition within 30 days, the sex offender will 

be deemed to have waived their right to a judicial determination of the requirement to register.  G.S. § 14-208.12B(f). 
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If the superior court judge determines the out-of-state conviction or federal conviction is substantially 

similar to a North Carolina sexually violent offense or an offense against a minor, the judge will order the 

person to register as a sex offender.  However, if the judge determines that the conviction at issue is not 

substantially similar to a North Carolina sexually violent offense or an offense against a minor, the judge 

must issue a written order stating that the person is not required to register based on the out-of-state 

conviction or federal conviction presented at the hearing.  The written order must be filed with the clerk of 

court and copied to the district attorney and sheriff.  G.S. § 14-208.12B(d). 

 

4.5 Final Conviction 
 

The term “Final Conviction” is not defined in our State sex offender registration laws.  Whether there 

is a final conviction will depend on the laws of the jurisdiction where the conviction occurred.  We do 

know that a North Carolina misdemeanor conviction from district court that has been appealed to 

superior court is not a final conviction unless the appeal has been withdrawn and the case has been 

remanded back to district court.  Pursuant to G.S. § 15A-1431, a defendant has 10 days from entry of 

judgment in district court to appeal a conviction to superior court.  However, a conviction on appeal 

from the superior court to the North Carolina Court of Appeals is a final conviction and will require 

registration if the crime is registerable. State v. Smith, 230 N.C. App. 387 (2013) 

 

Determining whether the entry of a prayer for judgment continued (PJC) constitutes a final conviction 

that would requires registration as a sex offender depends on an analysis of any conditions placed on 

the defendant by the court.  A “true PJC,” one without any conditions attached, is not a final conviction. 

Walters v. Cooper, 367 N.C. 117 (2013) An example of a “true PJC” from the Walters case is one 

where judgment is continued upon condition that the defendant pay costs, attorney fees and not have 

any contact with the victim.  As long as the conditions attached to the PJC do not amount to 

punishment, the PJC is a “true PJC.”  Because this issue can be complicated, legal counsel should be 

consulted. 

 

When deciding whether a judicial determination, such as an adjudication, from another state is a “final 

conviction,” one must look at that state’s law to see if that state treats the judicial determination as a 

final conviction for registry purposes.  For example, some states’ registration laws define conviction 

to include adjudications while others do not.  You should consult with the other state’s Attorney 

General’s office to make this determination. 

 

In addition, "final conviction" may or may not include juvenile proceedings in another state.  

Therefore, one must again look at that state’s laws.  Juveniles who are tried and convicted as adults in 

North Carolina pursuant to G.S. § 7B-2200 must register "just as an adult convicted of the same offense 

must register," according to G.S. § 14-208.6B.  See Section 12 below for juvenile registrants. 

 

Note:  G.S. § 15A-145(a1), which allows for the expunction of certain first-time offenses committed 

by offenders under the age of 18, does not allow expunction of any offense for which the person under 

the age of 18 was required to register under North Carolina’s Sex Offender Registry laws.  [S.L. 2021-

115, § 2] 

 

4.6 Effective Dates 
 
It is imperative that before you determine someone must register, you must first identify the statute 

the person was convicted under and the offense/conviction date.  Some offenders will have convictions 

for offenses that are generally registerable but will not be required to register because of their date of 
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offense or date of conviction. 

 

For example: John Doe comes to register with the sheriff’s office.  He was convicted on July 5, 2005 

for violating G.S § 14-27.7A(a), Statutory Rape - Defendant is at least 6 years older.  The date of 

offense is December 1, 2003.  He was released from prison on July 1, 2018.  Does Mr. Doe have to 

register? 

 

Answer: No. Mr. Doe’s offense was committed before December 1, 2006; therefore, he does not have 

to register because the effective date for that particular offense is after December 1, 2006. (See chart 

in Section 4.1 of this publication.) 

 

5. Nonresident Students and Workers 
 

G.S. § Who Basis of Registration Effective Date 

14-208.6 (1k), 14-208.7(a1) 

[S.L. 2001-373, §§ 1, 4, 12] 

Nonresident Student 

 

A person who is not a resident of 

North Carolina but who is enrolled in 

any type of school in this State on a 

part-time or full-time basis. 

Either has a “reportable 

conviction” (see above) or 

is required to register in 

their state of residency.   

 

Oct. 1, 2001  

   

  

14-208.6 (1l), 14-208.7(a1) 

[S.L. 2001-373, §§ 1, 4, 12] 

Nonresident Worker 

 

A person who is not a resident of 

North Carolina but has employment 

or carries on a vocation in this State 

on a part-time or full-time basis, with 

or without compensation, or 

government or educational benefit, 

for more than 14 days, or for an 

aggregate period exceeding 30 days in 

a calendar year. 

Either has a “reportable 

conviction” (see above) or 

is required to register in 

their state of residency. 

 

Oct. 1, 2001   

 

  

 

6. Adult Offender Classifications 
 

6.1 Aggravated Offenders, Recidivists, and Sexually Violent Predators 
 
“Aggravated offenders,” “recidivists,” and “sexually violent predators,” are subject to the more 

stringent set of registration requirements. G.S. § 14-208.6A 
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G.S. §  Classification Who Qualifies Effective Date 

14-208.6(1a), 14-

208.21 

[S.L. 2001-373, §§ 

1, 7, 12] 

Aggravated Offender 

“Aggravated offender” is 

not a statutory term but is 

commonly used to refer to 

an individual convicted of 

an "aggravated offense," as 

defined in G.S. § 14-

208.6(1a).   

A person who commits any registerable 

criminal offense (possibly including an out 

of state conviction in addition to NC 

convictions) that includes elements of either 

of the following: (1) engaging in a sexual 

act involving vaginal, anal, or oral 

penetration with a victim of any age through 

the use of force or the threat of serious 

violence, or (2) engaging in a sexual act 

involving vaginal, anal, or oral penetration 

with a victim who is less than 12 years-of-

age. *See following NOTE for further 

information. 

An individual shall be 

registered as an 

aggravated offender only 

if the offense was 

COMMITTED on or after 

October 1, 2001. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

14-208.6(2b), 14-

208.21 

[S.L. 2001-373, §§ 

1, 7, 12] 

Recidivist  A person who has a prior conviction for an 

offense described in G.S. § 14-208.6(4).  No 

effective date restriction on prior offense.  

See State v. Wooten,194 N.C. App. 524 

(2008). 

Note:  In 2021, the General Assembly added 

a “reoffender” classification for persons 

who have 2 or more convictions for a felony 

described in G.S. § 14-208.6(4) that 

occurred in different sessions of court.  

These offenders do not have a separate 

registration classification; a reoffender will 

always meet the definition of a recidivist.  

The difference between a recidivist and a 

reoffender is that, effective December 1, 

2021, a court may not order satellite-based 

monitoring simply because an offender is a 

recidivist. [S.L. 2021-138, § 18] 

An individual shall be 

registered as a recidivist if 

they have at least one 

reportable conviction for 

an offense COMMITTED 

on or after October 1, 

2001. 

14-208.6(6), 14-

208.20, 

14-208.21 

[S.L. 1997-516, §§ 

1, 3] 

Sexually Violent 

Predator 

An individual who has been convicted of a 

sexually violent offense and who suffers 

from a mental abnormality or personality 

disorder, that makes the person likely to 

engage in sexually violent offenses directed 

at strangers, or at a person with whom a 

relationship has been established or 

promoted for the primary purpose of 

victimization.  (See below for more details 

on requirements.) 

EFFECTIVE April 1, 

1998.  The sentencing 

court must make a 

determination and written 

findings.  (S.L. 1997-516 

does not specify whether 

the offense date, date of 

conviction, or triggering 

event must occur on or 

after April 1, 1998.  At 

the very least, it applies to 

offenses COMMITTED 

on or after that date.) 

 

 
*NOTE: Whether an offense is an “aggravated offense” is determined by examining the elements of the 
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underlying criminal offense, not the factual scenario giving rise to the conviction. State v. Davison, 201 

N.C. App. 354 (2009).  For example, even though someone has a conviction for sexual battery with a victim 

aged 14, the registrant would not be an aggravated offender because the elements of the offense do not meet 

the definition above for “aggravated offense.” 

 

Although not exhaustive, the North Carolina Court of Appeals has decided the following cases about what 

offenses are aggravated, and what offenses cannot be aggravated: 

 

Aggravated: 

 

1. First Degree Statutory Rape (victim under 13) (G.S. § 14-27.2(a)(1) State v. Clark, 211 N.C. App. 

60 (2011). 

 

2. Statutory Rape - victim 13, 14, 15 and defendant 6 years older (G.S. § 14-27.7A(a)), State v. 

Sprouse, 217 N.C. App. 230 (2011). 

 

3. Second Degree Rape (forcible) (G.S. § 14-27.3(a)(1)), State v. McCravey, 203 N.C. App. 627 

(2010). 

 

4. Second Degree Rape (mentally disabled victim) (G.S. 14-27.3(a)(2)), State v. Oxendine, 206 N.C. 

App. 205 (2010). 

 

5. Second Degree Rape (physically helpless victim) (G.S. § 14-27.3(a)(2)), State v. Talbert, 233 N.C. 

App. 403 (2014). 

 

Not Aggravated: 

 

1. Attempted Offenses, State v. Barnett, 245 N.C. App. 101 (2016). 

 

2. Indecent liberties with a child, (G.S. § 14-202.1) State v. Singleton, 201 N.C. App. 620 (2010).  

 

3. Sexual Offenses (forcible or statutory because it is possible to commit without penetration) State 

v. Green, 229 N.C. App. 121 (2013) (forcible), State v. Treadway, 208 N.C. App. 286 (2010) 

(statutory). 

 

4. Sexual battery, State v. Brooks, 204 N.C. App. 193 (2010). 

 

5. Child abuse (sexual act), (G.S. § 14-318.4(a2), State v. Phillips, 203 N.C. App. 326 (2010).  

 

6. Any offense committed before October 1, 2001. 

 

**Please be aware that in 2016 the North Carolina General Assembly changed some of the elements of and 

renumbered certain sex offenses.  Therefore, when evaluating sex offenses be sure to check the exact statute 

applicable to a particular registrant and contact your legal counsel before classifying someone as 

“aggravated.”** 

 

6.2 Sexually Violent Predator Determination Process  
G.S. §§ 14-208.20, 14- 208.21 [S.L. 1997-516; S.L. 2001-373] 

 
A “sexually violent predator” is defined in G.S. § 14-208.6(6) as an individual who has been convicted of 
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a “sexually violent offense” (see chart above) and “who suffers from a mental abnormality or personality 

disorder that makes the person likely to engage in sexually violent offenses directed at strangers or at a 

person with whom a relationship has been established or promoted for the primary purpose of 

victimization.” A court order during criminal sentencing is required before an offender can be classified 

as a “sexually violent predator.” This sentencing procedure is governed by G.S. § 14-208.20 and cannot 

happen without a court order, therefore this only applies to N.C. convictions.  Out of state convictions will 

not fit this definition. 

 

6.3 Additional Registration Requirements 
 
All aggravated offenders, recidivists, and sexually violent predators are subject to the following 

requirements: 

 

1. Lifetime registration3 (G.S. § 14-208.23); 

 

2. Must provide the following additional registration information: (G.S. § 14-208.22) 

 

a. identifying factors; 

 

b. offense history; and 

 

c. documentation of any treatment received by the person for the person’s mental abnormality 

or personality disorder. 

 

3. Must verify registration every 90 days4 (G.S. § 14-208.24); and 

 

4. May be subject to satellite-based monitoring.  (But Note: “Reoffender” has replaced “recidivist” 

in the satellite-based monitoring determination statutes. [S.L. 2021-138, § 18] As defined in the 

table on page 13 of this publication, a “reoffender” is someone who has 2 or more convictions for 

a felony described in G.S. § 14-208.6(4) that occurred in different sessions of court.  The effect of 

this is that eligibility for enrollment in satellite-based monitoring is narrowed to those repeat sex 

offenders with felony-level convictions. Classification as a recidivist, by itself, no longer causes an 

offender to be eligible for enrollment in satellite-based monitoring.  A repeat sex offender, whether 

they are classified as a recidivist or not, will only be eligible for enrollment in satellite-based 

monitoring if they meet the definition of a reoffender as defined in G.S. § 14-208.6(3e)).   

 

7. Registration and Verification Process  
[S.L. 1995-545; S.L. 1997-516; S.L. 2001-373; S.L. 2002-
147; S.L. 2006-247]  

 

7.1 Where to Register  
G.S. §§ 14-208.7(a), 14-208.7(a1) 

 

Residents required to register shall report, IN PERSON, to the sheriff of the county of residence.  

Nonresident students and workers are required to maintain registration with the sheriff in the county 

 
3 Compare to regular registrants who, 10 years from date of their initial registration, may request termination of their registration 

requirement by petitioning the superior court in the district where they reside.  G.S. § 14-208.12A 
4 Compare to Part 2 registrants who must verify registration information every six months under G.S. § 14-208.9A 
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where the person attends school or works.  

 

7.2 When to Register  
 

G.S. § Who Deadline 

14-208.7(a)(2) 

 

Current North Carolina resident 

convicted who did not receive an 

active sentence. 

Immediately upon conviction. 

14-208.7(a)(1) 

[S.L. 2008-117, § 8] 

Current North Carolina resident who 

received an active sentence. 

Within 3 business days of release 

from a penal institution.  

14-208.7(a)  

[S.L. 2008-117, § 8] 

Person moves into North Carolina 

from outside the State. 

Within 3 business days of 

establishing residency in North 

Carolina or whenever the offender 

has been present in North Carolina 

for 15 days, whichever comes 

first.  

14-208.6(1k), 14-208.7(a1)  Nonresident student. 

 

When enrolled in any type of 

school in North Carolina.  

14-208.6(1l), 14-208.7(a1) Nonresident worker. When employed or carries on 

vocation in North Carolina, on 

part-time or full-time basis, with 

or without compensation or 

government or educational benefit, 

for more than 14 days, or for an 

aggregate period exceeding 30 

days in a calendar year.  

 

7.3 Initial Notification of Duty to Register  
G.S. § 14-208.8 

 
Normally, offenders convicted in North Carolina who do not receive an active sentence are notified of their 

duty to register by the sentencing judge. 

 

For offenders convicted in North Carolina who receive an active sentence and are subject to registration 

upon their release from a North Carolina penal institution, an official at the penal institution (typically 

prison) will, within at least ten (10) days, but not earlier than 30 days before the offender is due to be 

released: 

 

1. Inform the offender of their duty to register, and require the offender to sign a written statement 

that the offender was so informed, or if the offender refuses to sign the statement, certify that the 

offender was so informed; 

 

2. Obtain the registration information required, as well as the address where the offender expects to 

reside upon the offender’s release; and 

 

3. Send the information collected to the Sex Offender Coordination Unit of the Criminal Information 

and Identification Section of the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, (hereinafter CIIS) 

and the sheriff of the county in which the offender expects to reside. 
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7.3.1 Notification of Registration Requirements by Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)  
G.S. §§ 20-9(i), 20-9.3  

 
DMV will provide notice to each person who applies for the issuance of a driver’s license, learner's permit, 

instruction permit or an identification card, that if the person is a sex offender, then the person is required 

to register. 

 

Furthermore, DMV will not issue a driver’s license to an applicant who has resided in this State for less 

than 12 months until DMV has searched the National Sex Offender Public Registry to determine if the 

person is currently registered as a sex offender in another state. 

 

If DMV finds that the person is currently registered as a sex offender in another state, DMV will not issue 

a driver’s license to the person until the person submits proof of registration issued by the sheriff of the 

county where the person resides.  

 

If the person does not appear on the National Sex Offender Public Registry, DMV shall issue a driver’s 

license but shall require the person to sign an affidavit acknowledging that the person has been notified that 

if the person is a sex offender, then the person is required to register.  

 

In certain circumstances, sex offenders notified of their duty to register by other states or jurisdictions will 

be deemed to have adequate notice of their duty to register in North Carolina.  State v. Bryant, 359 N.C. 

554, 614 S.E.2d 479 (2005).  

 

7.4 Information Collected by the Sheriff  
G.S. § 14-208.7(b) 

 

7.4.1 Initial Registration 
 
The sheriff shall collect the following information: 

 
1. Registrant’s full name, all aliases, date of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, hair color, 

driver’s license number and home address; 

 

2. Statement indicating registrants name(s) at the time of the offense, conviction, and sentencing; 

 

3. Type of offense for which the registrant was convicted, date of offense, date of conviction, and 

sentence imposed;  

 

4. Current photograph (registrant cannot be charged a fee for the photograph);  

 

5. Registrant’s fingerprints (registrant cannot be charged a fee for the fingerprints);  

 

6. A statement indicating whether the registrant is a student, or expects to enroll as a student within 

one (1) year of registering and the name and address of any educational institution at which the 

person is or expects to enroll as a student; 

 

7. A statement indicating whether the registrant is employed or expects to be employed at an 

institution of higher education within one (1) year of registering and the name and address of any 

institution of higher education at which the person is or expects to be employed; and 
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8. Any online identifier that the person uses or intends to use.5 

 

If the registrant is an aggravated offender, recidivist, or sexually violent predator, then the following 

registration information is also required under G.S. § 14-208.22: 

 

1. Identifying factors; 

 

2. Offense history; and  

 

3. Documentation of any treatment received by the person for the person’s mental abnormality or 

personality disorder.  

 

Once the registrant completes the registration process, the registering sheriff shall immediately send the 

registration information to the CIIS in a manner determined by the SBI.  The sheriff shall retain the original 

registration form and other information collected and will compile the information that is considered a 

public record into a county registry.  A county registry is defined as the information compiled by the sheriff 

of a county in compliance with this law. 

 

The sheriff shall provide the registrant with written proof of registration at the time of registration upon 

registration completion.  

 

7.4.2 Residential Address 
 

Every offender “does, at all times, have an ‘address’ of some sort, even if it is a homeless shelter, a location 

under a bridge or some similar place.”  State v. Worley, 198 N.C. App. 329, 337-338, 679 S.E.2d 857, 863-

864 (2009).  Every offender must register their address and their address should appear on the public 

registry. 

 

An offender’s mere presence at a location does not establish a residence, but a residence is established when 

certain “activities of life” occur at the location.  State v. Abshire, 363 N.C. 322, 332, 677 S.E.2d 444, 451 

(2009).  Activities of life “possibly indicative of a person's place of residence are numerous and diverse, 

and there are a multitude of facts a jury might look to when answering whether a sex offender has changed 

his or her address.”  State v. Abshire, 363 N.C. 322, 332, 677 S.E.2d 444, 451 (2009).  Thus, one must 

consider what “activities of life” occur at a location to determine whether that location is a person’s 

residence. 

 

What happens to an offender’s address if they are incarcerated while on the registry? After initial 

registration, G.S. § 14-208.9, the statute on change of address, applies.  Any offender who establishes a 

residence and is then incarcerated6 is considered to have changed their address to the confinement facility.  

Once the offender is released he or she has 3 business days from that change of address from the jail, to 

provide written notice of their new address to the last registering sheriff.  State v. Crockett, 368 N.C. 717, 

782 S.E.2d 878 (2016).  

 
5 Online identifier is defined in G.S. § 14-208.6 (1n) as electronic mail address, instant message screen name, user ID, chat or 

other Internet communication name, but it does not mean social security number, date of birth, or pin number.  Electronic mail is 

defined in G.S. § 14-208.6(1d) as the transmission of information or communication by the use of the Internet, a computer, a 

facsimile machine, a pager, a cellular telephone, a video recorder, or other electronic means sent to a person identified by a unique 

address or address number and received by that person. 
6 North Carolina Appellate Courts have not determined how long a registrant must be incarcerated in order for their address to 

change to the confinement facility.  The longer the incarceration, the more likely someone’s address changes and upon their release 

they have 3 business days to notify the last registering sheriff of their new address.  
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7.4.3 Mandatory Verification  
G.S. §§ 14-208.9A, 14-208.11(a)(3), 14-208.24 

 

The CIIS must mail a non-forwardable verification form to the last reported address of the registrant. The 

registrant has three (3) business days from receipt of the letter to appear IN PERSON at the local sheriff’s 

office to complete the verification process.  Failure to comply with these verification procedures is a Class 

F Felony. 

 

All verifications must be made IN PERSON.  The frequency of the required verifications will depend on 

the classification of the offender. 

 

If a person fails to report IN PERSON and provide a written verification showing whether he or she still 

resides at the last reported address or has a new address, the sheriff must make a reasonable attempt to 

verify that the registrant is still residing at the registered address before charging a registrant with the 

offense of failure to verify.  

 

If a registrant cannot be found at the registered address and has failed to report a change of address, he or 

she is subject to failure to register penalties (G.S. § 14-208.11) unless he or she reports IN PERSON to the 

sheriff’s office and proves that they have not moved.  

 

G.S. §  Classification of Offender Frequency of Mandatory Verification 

14-208.9A 

 

Regular Offenders  

 

Every year on the anniversary date of the initial 

registration, and again six (6) months after that date.  

14-208.24 Aggravated Offenders, Recidivists, and  

Sexually Violent Predators  

Every 90 days after the person’s initial registration date.  

 

The following information shall be verified:  

 

1. Offender’s address; 

 

2. Online identifier (every offender must verify whether they still use or intend to use any previously 

reported online identifiers.  The offender must also report any new or different online identifiers 

they use or intend to use.);  

 
3. Offender’s name (every offender must verify whether they still use or intend to use the same name 

previously reported.  If the offender has a new or different name, they must report that information); 

and 

 

4. Photograph (during verification, if it appears to the sheriff that the photograph on record of the sex 

offender no longer provides a true and accurate likeness of the sex offender, the sheriff shall take a 

new photograph of the offender). 

 

7.4.4 Sheriff Authorized to Conduct Additional Verification 
 

Address: During the period that an offender is required to be registered, the sheriff is authorized to attempt 

to verify that the offender continues to reside at the last registered address. 

 

Photograph: If it appears to the sheriff that the current photograph of the sex offender no longer provides a 
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true and accurate likeness of the sex offender, the offender must allow the sheriff to take another photograph 

of the offender at the time of the sheriff’s request.  If requested by the sheriff, the offender must appear IN 

PERSON at the sheriff’s office during normal business hours within three business days of being requested 

to do so and shall allow the sheriff to take another photograph of the sex offender.  Failure to appear after 

being ordered to do so is a misdemeanor offense.  

 

7.5 Registrant’s Duty to Update Registry Information  
G.S. § 14-208.9 

 

G.S. § Event Notification Required Deadline 

14-208.9(a) 

 

Offender changes address - 

new address in a same county 

Report IN PERSON and 

provide written notification of 

new address to the sheriff’s 

office of the county with whom 

the offender last registered. 

Within 3 business days after 

change of address. 

14-208.9(a) 

[S.L. 2007-213, § 

9A] 

Offender changes address - 

new address in a different 

North Carolina county 

Report IN PERSON and 

provide written notification of 

new address to both the 

sheriff’s office of the county 

with whom the offender last 

registered and the sheriff’s 

office of the new county.  

Must report within 3 business 

days after the change of 

address to sheriff of the county 

of last registration and within 

10 days after the change of 

address to the sheriff of the new 

county. 

14-208.9(b) 

[S.L. 2006-247, § 

6] 

 

 

 

 

Offender intends to move to 

another state 

Report IN PERSON and 

provide written notification of 

the address, municipality, 

county and state of intended 

residence to the sheriff’s office 

of the county of current 

residence.   

At least 3 business days before 

person intends to leave North 

Carolina to establish residence 

in other state or jurisdiction. 

14-208.9(b1)  Offender who indicated their 

intent to reside in another state 

or jurisdiction decides to 

remain in N.C. 

Report IN PERSON to the 

sheriff’s office to which the 

offender reported their intent to 

move out-of-state.  

Within 3 business days after the 

date the offender indicated they 

would leave this state.  

14-208.9 (e) 

[S.L. 2008-220, § 

4] 

 

A person required to register 

changes or obtains a new online 

identifier. 

Report IN PERSON to the 

sheriff of the county with whom 

the person registered to provide 

the new or changed online 

information. 

Within 10 days of changing or 

obtaining a new online 

identifier. 
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G.S. § Event Notification Required Deadline 

14-208.8A 

[S.L. 2006-247, § 

4; S.L. 2007-484, § 

2] 

 

 

 

1.  The offender is employed or 

carries on a vocation in a 

North Carolina county other 

than the county in which they 

are registered for more than 

ten (10) business days within a 

30-day period, or for an 

aggregate period exceeding 30 

days in a calendar year, on a 

part-time or full-time basis, 

with or without compensation, 

or government, or educational 

benefit; 

 AND 

 

2. They maintain a temporary 

residence in that county for 

more than ten (10) business 

days within a 30-day period, or 

for an aggregate period 

exceeding 30 days in a calendar 

year. 

The offender shall notify the 

sheriff of the county with whom 

the offender is registered of 

their place of employment and 

temporary residence (includes 

hotels, motels, or other transient 

lodging places). 

1. Within 72 hours after the 

offender knows or should know 

that they will be working and 

maintaining a temporary 

residence in a county other than 

the county in which the 

offender resides, for more than 

ten (10) business days within a 

30-day period;  

OR 

 

2. Within ten (10) days after 

the offender knows or should 

know that they will be working 

or maintaining a temporary 

residence in a county other than 

the county in which the person 

resides, for an aggregate period 

exceeding 30 days in a calendar 

year.   

14-208.6(9)  

14-208.9(c) 

 

Offender changes academic 

status by enrolling as a student 

or terminating enrollment as a 

student (full-time or part-time 

basis, in any postsecondary 

public or private educational 

institution, including any trade 

or professional institution, or 

other institution of higher 

education). 

Report IN PERSON to the 

sheriff of the county with whom 

the person is registered and 

provide written notice of 

offender’s new status. 

Within 3 business days of 

enrollment or termination of 

enrollment. Note, this may only 

apply to persons convicted on 

or after Oct. 2, 2002.  Consult 

with the district attorney before 

charging. 

14-208.6(1e) 

14-208.9(d) 

 

Offender changes employment 

status at institution of higher 

education (Postsecondary 

public or private education 

institution, including any trade 

or professional institution, 

college, or university). 

Report IN PERSON to the 

sheriff of the county with whom 

the person is registered and 

provide written notice of 

offender’s new status. 

Within 3 business days of 

obtaining employment or 

terminating employment at an 

institution of higher learning.  

Note, this may only apply to 

persons convicted on or after 

Oct. 2, 2002.  Consult with the 

district attorney before 

charging. 

14-208.9(f) Offender changes their name by 

any method.  

Report IN PERSON to the 

sheriff of the county with whom 

the person registered to prove 

the name change. 

Within 3 business days of the 

name change.  
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G.S. § Event Notification Required Deadline 

14-208.11(c) Offender is incarcerated or in 

custody of local, State, private, 

or federal correctional facility. 

While incarcerated or in 

custody offender must notify 

official in charge of facility of 

offender’s status as a person 

with a legal obligation to 

register.  

Offender must also meet all 

registration and verification 

requirements no later than 10 

days after release.  

 

The sheriff’s office should immediately report all updated information to CIIS. 

 

7.6 Period of Registration  
G.S. §§ 14-208.12A, 14-208.23 [2001 S.L. 373; 2006 S.L. 247] 

 

G.S. §  Classification of Registrant Period of Registration 

14-208.6A 

14-208.7 

14-208.12A 

[S.L. 2008-117, §§ 7, 8, 11] 

 

Regular Registrants  

registered before Dec. 1, 2008 

Ten (10) years to life. 

Offender will be registered for life following the date of 

initial county registration unless the offender successfully 

petitions the superior court to shorten their registration 

period under G.S. § 14-208.12A.  Offender first eligible to 

petition ten (10) years after the date of initial county 

registration in N.C.   

14-208.6A 

14-208.7 

14-208.12A 

[S.L. 2008-117, §§ 7, 8, 11] 

 

Regular Registrants  

registered on or after Dec. 1, 

2008 

Ten (10) to thirty (30) years. 

Offender will be registered for thirty (30) years following 

the date of initial county registration in N.C. unless the 

offender successfully petitions the superior court to 

shorten their registration period under G.S. § 14-208.12A.  

Offender first eligible to petition ten (10) years after the 

date of initial county registration in N.C.   

14-208.23 Aggravated Offenders, 

Recidivists, and  

Sexually Violent Predators  

Lifetime 

 

Request for termination of registration requirement. A registered offender, who is not classified as a 

“Recidivist,” “Sexually Violent Predator,” or “Aggravated Offender,” and has not been convicted of a 

subsequent offense requiring registration, may petition the superior court in the district where the offender 

was convicted of the reportable conviction to terminate the registration requirement ten (10) years from the  

date of initial county registration.  If the conviction is for an offense that occurred in another state, the 

petition shall be filed in the district where the registrant resides. 

 

The court may grant relief and order the offender off the registry if: 

 

1. The offender can show that since completing their sentence they have not been arrested for any 

crime that would require registration; 

 

2. The requested relief complies with the provisions of the federal Jacob Wetterling Act, as amended, 

and any other federal standards applicable to the termination of a registration requirement, or 
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required to be met as a condition for the receipt of federal funds by the State; and 

 

3. The court is otherwise satisfied that the petitioner is not a current or potential threat to public safety.  

 

Additionally, the district attorney where the petition is filed shall be notified of the petition at least three 

(3) weeks before the hearing on the matter. For an out of state conviction, the petitioner must provide written 

notice to the sheriff of the county where the petitioner was originally convicted. The petitioner may present 

evidence in support of the petition and the district attorney may present evidence in opposition or may 

otherwise demonstrate the reason(s) why the petition should be denied.  

 

If the court denies the petition, the registrant may again petition the court one (1) year from the date of 

denial.  If the court grants the petition, the clerk of court shall forward a certified copy of the order to the 

CIIS to have the offender’s name removed from the registry.  

 

8. Restrictions 
 

8.1 Residency Restrictions  
G.S. § 14-208.16 [S.L. 2006-247; S.L. 2013-28; S.L. 2014-21; S.L. 2021-
115] 

 

An offender who is required to register shall not knowingly reside at any location which is within 

1,000 feet of any property line of a property on which any public or non-public “school” or “child care 

center” is located, or within any structure, any portion of which is within 1,000 feet of any property 

line of any property on which a school or child-care center is located.  For purposes of this restriction, 

“school” does not include home schools as defined in G.S. § 115C-563, or institutions of higher 

education.7   

The clarification that the 1,000 feet prohibition is measured from the property line of the property on 

which the school or child-care center is located does not apply to offenders who established residency 

prior to December 1, 2021. 

For purposes of this statute, “child care center” is defined by G.S. § 110-86(3) and also includes Boys 

and Girls Clubs of America.  G.S. § 110-86(3)(a) provides “[a] child care center is an arrangement 

where, at any one time, there are three or more preschool-age children or 9 or more school-age children 

receiving child care.”  Thus, to determine whether a location is a child care center, one must determine 

whether a location provides “child care.”  G.S. § 110-86(2) provides a very specific definition as to 

what activities constitute “child care.” Consult G.S. § 110-86 to determine whether “child care” is 

being provided.  (See Appendix I at the end of the publication.) 

 

Furthermore, the residency restriction does NOT apply to child care centers that are located on, or 

within 1,000 feet of the property of an institution of higher education where the offender is a student 

or is employed.  

 

Changes in the ownership of or use of property within 1,000 feet of a registrant’s registered address 

that occur after a registrant establishes residency at the registered address shall not form the basis for 

finding that a registrant is in violation of this regulation.  For purposes of this regulation, a residence 

 
7 “Home school” means a nonpublic school in which one or more children of not more than two families or households where the 

parents or legal guardians provide academic instruction and determine additional sources of academic instruction..  G.S. § 115C-

563. 
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is established when the registrant does any one of the following: 

 

1. Purchases the residence or enters into a specifically enforceable contract to purchase the 

residence; or 

 

2. Enters into a written lease contract for the residence and for as long as the offender is lawfully 

entitled to remain on the premises; or 

 

3. Resides with an immediate family member who established residence in accordance with this 

provision.  For purposes of this provision, “immediate family member” means a child or 

sibling who is 18 years of age or older, or a parent, grandparent, legal guardian, or spouse of 

the registrant. 

 

These residency restrictions do not apply to an offender who established residency at the registered 

address prior to August 16, 2006 [S.L. 2013-28]. Residency restrictions surrounding the Boys and 

Girls Clubs of America does not apply to a person who established residence prior to June 19, 2014 

[S.L. 2014-21].   

 

8.2 Limitation on Residential Use  
G.S. § 14-208.17(b) [S.L. 2006-247] 

 

Offender’s residence may not be used to care for a child.  It is unlawful for any person to conduct any 

activity at their residence where the person: 

 

1. Accepts a minor or minors into their care or custody from another, and 

 

2. Knows that an offender who resides at the same location is required to register. 

 

Violation of this statute is a Class F felony. 

 

8.3 Employment and Volunteer Restrictions  
G.S. § 14-208.17(a) [S.L. 2006-247] 

 
No instruction, supervision, or care for minors.   It is unlawful for any offender who is required to register 

to work for any person or as a sole proprietor, with or without compensation, at any place where a minor is 

present, and the offender’s responsibilities or activities would include instruction, supervision, or care of a 

minor or minors. 

 

Violation of this statute is a Class F felony. 

 

8.4 Prohibition Against Baby Sitting Service by Sex Offender or at a Place 
Where a Sex Offender Resides  
G.S. § 14-321.1 

 

No adult may provide or offer to provide a baby sitting service:  

 

1. In a home where a resident of the home is a registered sex offender, or 
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2. In which a provider of care for the baby sitting service is a registered sex offender. 

 

“Baby sitting service" is defined as providing, for profit, supervision or care for a child under the age of 13 

years who is unrelated to the provider by blood, marriage, or adoption, for more than two hours per day 

while the child's parents or guardian are not on the premises.  

 

A violation of this section that is a first offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  A second or subsequent offense 

is a Class H felony.  

 

8.5 Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Restriction  
G.S. §§ 14-208.19A, 20-17.9, 20-27.1, 20-37.14A 

 
A person required to register is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle that requires a CDL 

with a P or S endorsement. 

 

Exception: A person who was registered on December 1, 2009 and who has a valid CDL with a P or S 

endorsement that was issued before December 1, 2009 is not disqualified until their license expires, 

provided they do not commit a subsequent offense that requires registration. 

 

A person who drives a commercial passenger vehicle or school bus and who does not have a valid CDL 

with a P or S endorsement because that person was convicted of a violation that requires registration is 

guilty of a Class F felony.  

 

8.6 Emergency Medical Services Restriction  
G.S. § 131E-159 

 

A person required to register shall not be granted or be able to renew emergency medical services 

credentials. 

 

8.7 Funeral License Restriction  
G.S. § 90-210.25B [S.L. 2012-194; S.L. 2015-62; S.L. 2015-181]  
 

A person convicted of a “sexual offense against a minor” shall not be eligible for any license by the 

North Carolina Board of Funeral Services. “Sexual offense against a minor” is not defined anywhere 

else in N.C. law and means a conviction of any of the following offenses: G.S. §§ 14-27.23, 14-

27.25(a), 14-27.28, 14-27.30, 14-190.16, 14-190.17, 14-190.17A, 14-190.18, 14-190.19, 14-202.1, 

14-202.3, 14-202.4(a) 14-318.4(a1) or 14-318.4(a2). 

 

The term “sexual offense against a minor” also includes any attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to 

commit any of these offenses or any aiding and abetting any of these offenses. 

 

The term “sexual offense against a minor” also includes a conviction in another jurisdiction for an 

offense which if committed in this State has the same or substantially similar elements to an offense 

against a minor as defined by this section. 

 

This restriction is effective July 17, 2012 and applies to any license request after that date. 
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8.8 Registered “High-Risk” Offenders Prohibited from Engaging in 
Certain Activities on Commercial Social Networking Web sites  
G.S. § 14-202.5 [S.L. 2019-245] 

 
Previously, North Carolina law prohibited registered sex offenders from accessing “commercial social 

networking Web site”, defined, broadly speaking, as a Web site, application, or portal that allows users 

to create personal Web pages or profiles and to communicate with others.  However, this blanket 

prohibition was found to be an unconstitutional First Amendment restriction in Packingham v. N.C. 

137 S. Ct. 1730, 198 L. Ed. 2d 273 (2017) and is therefore unenforceable. 

   

In 2019, the General Assembly amended G.S. § 14-202.5 to prohibit a certain sub-category of 

registered sex offenders from performing certain actions on commercial social networking Web sites. 

 

Pursuant to amended G.S. § 14-202.5, “high-risk sex offenders” may not do any of the following 

online: 

 

1. Communicate with a person that the offender believes is under 16 years of age; 

 

2. Contact a person that the offender believes is under 16 years of age; 

 

3. Pose falsely as a person under 16 years of age with the intent to commit an unlawful sex act 

with a person the offender believes is under 16 years of age; 

 
4. Use a Web site to gather information about a person that the offender believes is under 16 

years of age; or 

 
5. Use a commercial social networking Web site in violation of a policy, posted in a manner 

reasonably likely to come to the attention of users, prohibiting convicted sex offenders from 

using the Web site. 

 
“High-Risk Sex Offenders” are defined as persons who are registered and who: 

 

1. Were convicted of an aggravated offense against a person under 18 years of age; 

 

2. Are recidivists and one offense is against a person under 18 years of age; 

 
3. Were convicted of an offense against a minor; 

 
4. Were convicted of a sexually violent offense against a person under 18 years of age; or 

 
5. Were found by a court to be a sexually violent predator based on a conviction of a sexually 

violent offense against a minor. 

 

Also, even if not subject to the above restrictions, registrants still must disclose any online identifiers.  
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8.9 Prohibition on Name Changes by Sex Offenders (Effective Dec. 1, 
2008)  
G.S. § 14-202.6 [S.L. 2008-218] 

 
It is unlawful for a sex offender registered under North Carolina’s Sex Offender and Public Protection 

Programs to obtain a change of name under Chapter 101 of the North Carolina General Statutes. The 

process for a name change under this Chapter involves the registrant going to the clerk of court and 

applying to change his or her name. 

 

8.10 Certain Offenders Prohibited from Protected Locations (effective 
Sept. 1, 2016)  
G.S. § 14-208.18 [S.L. 2016-105; S.L. 2021-115] 

 

Offenders registered because of certain offenses have additional restrictions placed on them regarding 

where they can go.  

 

Which offenders are prohibited? Only persons required to register because they have committed either: 

 

1. An offense under Article 7B of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes, any offense 

(federal or out-of-state) which is substantially similar to an Article 7B offense; or 

 

2. An offense where the victim was under the age of 18 years at the time of offense; or 

 

3. First, second, or third degree sexual exploitation of a minor (or substantially similar federal 

offenses or substantially similar offenses in another state), even if the victim in the case was 

not a minor (such as an undercover law enforcement officer posing as a minor). 

 

(See Appendix II at the end of this publication) 

 

In situations in which an offender required to register has not committed an Article 7B crime, or one 

substantially similar to Article 7B or a sexual exploitation of a minor offense, or one substantially 

similar to these, and their crime does not clearly have an element requiring the victim to be under the 

age of 18 at the time of offense, in order to determine whether that offender is prohibited from certain 

locations under G.S. § 14-208.18, an examination of the facts of the case will be necessary to determine 

the age of the victim of the offense. 

 

Where are they prohibited from going? 

 

1. The premises of any place intended primarily for the use, care, or supervision of minors, 

including, but not limited to, schools, children's museums, child care centers, nurseries, and 

playgrounds; 

 

2. Within 300 feet of any location intended primarily for the use care or supervision of minors 

when the place is located on premises that are not intended primarily for the use, care, or 

supervision of minors, including, but not limited to, places described in the preceding 

paragraph that are located in malls, shopping centers, or other property open to the public. 8 

 
8 This 300ft restriction only applies to those convicted of an Article 7B offense (or substantially similar out of state offense) when 

a court has made a finding that the person is or may be a danger to minors under the age of 18, or the offense was committed against 
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3. Any place where minors frequently congregate, including, but not limited to, libraries, arcades, 

amusement parks, recreation parks, and swimming pools, when minors are present; and 

 

4. On the State Fairgrounds during the State Fair, Western N.C.  Agricultural Center during the 

N.C. Mountain State Fair and any other fairgrounds during an agricultural fair. 

 

Exceptions to the prohibition include: 

 

1. A parent or guardian of a minor may take the minor to any location that can provide emergency 

medical care treatment if the minor needs emergency medical care. 

 

2. A parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a school may be present on school property if all 

of the following conditions are met: 

 

a. The parent or guardian is on school property for one of the following purposes: 

 

i. To attend a conference at the school with school personnel to discuss the 

academic or social progress of the parent’s or guardian’s child; or 

ii. The presence of the parent or guardian has been requested by the principal or 

his or her designee for any other reason relating to the welfare or transportation 

of the child, and 

 

b. The parent or guardian complies with all of the following: 

 

i. The parent or guardian shall notify the principal of the school of their 

registration and of their presence (upon arrival and departure) at the school 

unless they: 

1. Have written permission to be present from the superintendent or the 

local board of education, who shall notify the principal of the nature of 

the offender’s visit and the hours when the offender will be present at 

the school; or 

2. The principal has granted ongoing permission in writing for regular 

visits of a routine nature. 

ii. A parent or guardian must be under the direct supervision of school personnel 

at all times they are on school property. 

 

3. There is an exception for persons eligible to vote at a prohibited location used as a voting place 

as defined by G.S. § 163-165.  Such persons can be on the premises only for the purposes of 

voting and shall not be outside the voting enclosure other than for entering and exiting the 

voting place. If the voting place is a school, then they shall notify the principal of the school 

that they are a registered offender. 

 

4. There is an exception for persons eligible under G.S. § 115C-378 to attend public school to be 

present on school property if permitted by the local board of education.  The student must be 

supervised by school personnel at all times. 

 

5. There is an exception for juveniles to be present at a location to receive medical treatment or 

 
a victim under the age of 18, or the offense was a first, second, or third degree sexual exploitation of a minor offense (or substantially 

similar federal offenses or substantially similar offenses in another state), even if the victim was not a minor. 
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mental health services if they remain under the direct supervision of an employee of the 

treating institution at all times. 

 

9. Sex Offender Satellite-Based Monitoring 
Program  
G.S. §§ 14-208.40, 14-208.40A, 14-208.40B 

 

The North Carolina Department of Adult Correction (DAC) oversees a sex offender monitoring 

program that uses a continuous satellite-based monitoring system for certain registered sex offenders.   

The court can order an eligible offender to enroll in satellite-based monitoring for a period of up to 

50 years.   

 

For additional information concerning this program, contact DAC at (919) 733-2126. 

10. Duties to Report and Arrest  
 

Pursuant to G.S. § 14-208.11A, it is illegal for anyone who has reason to believe that an offender is in 

violation of the registration requirements to intentionally assist the offender to elude arrest by 

withholding information or failing to notify law enforcement of the offender’s noncompliance, and, if 

known, the whereabouts of the offender.  For further details about a person’s duty to report 

noncompliance, see the chart below and G.S. § 14-208.11A. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. § 14-208.11(a1), a probation officer, parole officer, or any other law enforcement 

officer who is aware that a person has committed a violation of G.S. § 14-208.11(a) shall immediately 

arrest the person in violation in accordance with G.S. § 15A-401 or seek an order for the person's arrest 

in accordance with G.S. § 15A-305.   For more information, see G.S. § 14-208.11, including subsection 

(c) that addresses offenders that are incarcerated in, or in the custody of a local, State, private, or 

federal correctional facility. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. § 14-208.15A, an entity that receives either a complaint that a person is using its 

service to solicit a minor by computer to commit an unlawful sex act as defined in G.S. § 14-202.3, or 

a report that a user may be violating G.S. § 14-190.17 or G.S. § 14-190.17A by posting or transmitting 

material that contains a visual representation of a minor engaged in sexual activity, shall report that 

information and the online identifier information of the person allegedly committing the offense, 

including whether that online identifier is included in the statewide registry, to the Cyber Tip Line at 

the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, which shall forward that report to an 

appropriate law enforcement official in this State.  (See Section 13.2.5 “Release of Online Identifiers” 

of this publication for the definition of “entity”.) 

 

11. Crimes and Penalties 
 

G.S. § Who Can Be In Violation Violation Penalty 

14-208.9A(c) Person required to register Fails to comply with sheriff’s request for additional 

photograph as required by G.S. § 14-208.9A(c).  

Class 1 misd. 

14-208.11(a)(1) Person required to register Fails to register as required. Class F felony 
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G.S. § Who Can Be In Violation Violation Penalty 

14-208.11(a)(2) Person required to register Fails to notify the last registering sheriff of a 

change of address. 

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(3) Person required to register Fails to return a verification notice as required 

under G.S. § 14-208.9A. 

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(4) Person required to register Forges or submits under false pretenses the 

information or verification notices required.  

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(5) Person required to register Fails to inform the registering sheriff of enrollment 

or termination of enrollment as a student. 

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(6) Person required to register Fails to inform the registering sheriff of 

employment at an institution of higher education or 

termination of employment at an institution of 

higher education. 

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(7) Person required to register Fails to report IN PERSON to the sheriff's office as 

required by G.S. §§ 14-208.7, 14-208.9, and 14-

208.9A. 

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(8) Person required to register Reports their intent to reside in another state or 

jurisdiction but remains in this State without 

reporting to the sheriff in the manner required by 

G.S. § 14-208.9. 

Class F felony 

14-208.11(a)(9) Person required to register Fails to notify the registering sheriff of out-of-

county employment if temporary residence is 

established as required under G.S. § 14-208.8A. 

Class F felony 

 

 

14-208.11(a) (10) 

 

Person required to register Fails to inform the registering sheriff of any new or 

changes to existing online identifiers that the 

person uses or intends to use.  

Class F felony 

 

14-208.11A(a)(1) Any person who has reason to 

believe an offender is in 

violation of Article 27A, and 

who has intent to assist the 

offender in eluding arrest 

Withholds information from, or fails to notify, a 

law enforcement agency about the offender's 

noncompliance with the requirements of this 

Article, and, if known, the whereabouts of the 

offender as required by G.S. § 14-208.11A. 

 

(This provision does not apply if the offender is 

incarcerated or is in the custody of a local, state, 

private, or federal correctional facility). 

Class H felony 
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G.S. § Who Can Be In Violation Violation Penalty 

14-208.11A(a)(2) Any person who has reason to 

believe an offender is in 

violation of Article 27A, and 

who has intent to assist the 

offender in eluding arrest 

Harbors, attempts to harbor, or assists another 

person in harboring or attempting to harbor, the 

offender.   

 

(This provision does not apply if the offender is 

incarcerated or is in the custody of a local, state, 

private, or federal correctional facility). 

Class H felony 

14-208.11A(a)(3) Any person who has reason to 

believe an offender is in 

violation of Article 27A, and 

who has intent to assist the 

offender in eluding arrest 

Conceals, or attempts to conceal, or assists another 

person in concealing or attempting to conceal, the 

offender. 

 

(This provision does not apply if the offender is 

incarcerated or is in the custody of a local, state, 

private, or federal correctional facility). 

Class H felony 

14-208.11A(a)(4) Any person who has reason to 

believe an offender is in 

violation of Article 27A, and 

who has intent to assist the 

offender in eluding arrest 

Provides information to a law enforcement agency 

regarding the offender that the person knows to be 

false information. 

 

(This provision does not apply if the offender is 

incarcerated or is in the custody of a local, state, 

private, or federal correctional facility). 

Class H felony 

14-208.16(f) Person required to register Violates G.S. § 14-208.16 by residing in a location 

within 1,000 ft of a property line of a school or 

child care center, or within any structure, any 

portion of which is within 1,000 feet of any 

property line of any property on which a school or 

child-care center is located 

Class G felony 

14-208.17(c) Person required to register Violates G.S. § 14-208.17 by working or 

volunteering for child-involved activities. 

Class F felony 

14-208.17(c) Any person Violates G.S. § 14-208.17 by allowing residence to 

be used for care of a child.  

Class F felony 

14-208.18 

 

Persons required to register 

who have committed any 

Article 7B offense, a 

substantially similar offense, 

or any offense where the 

victim of the offense was 

under the age of 18 years at 

the time of offense 

Unlawfully on protected premises. Must analyze 

each situation and statute to determine: 

 1.  Is the offender covered by this statute? 

 2.  Are the premises protected by the statute? 

 3.  Does the offender fall into one of the statutory   

      exceptions? 

Class H felony 
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G.S. § Who Can Be In Violation Violation Penalty 

14-208.44(a) Person required to enroll in a 

satellite-based monitoring 

program 

Failure to enroll Class F felony 

14-208.44(b) 

[S.L. 2007-213, § 

6] 

Any person Intentionally tampers with, removes, vandalizes, or 

otherwise interferes with a device issued pursuant 

to a satellite-based monitoring program to a person 

enrolled in the program. 

Class E felony 

14-208.44(c) 

[S.L. 2007-213, § 

6] 

Person required to enroll in a 

satellite-based monitoring 

program 

Failure to provide necessary information to the 

DAC, or fails to cooperate with DAC’s guidelines 

and regulations for the program. 

Class 1 misd. 

 

 

14-321.1(c) Any person Violation of prohibition established in G.S. § 14-

321.1 against babysitting service by sex offender or 

in the home of a sex offender. 

Class 1 misd; 

Any subsequent 

offense is Class H 

felony 

20-27.1 

[S.L. 2009-491, § 

4] 

 

Person required to register Drives a commercial passenger vehicle or school 

bus and does not have a valid CDL with a P or S 

endorsement because that person was convicted of 

a violation that requires registration. 

Class F felony 

20-37.14A 

[S.L. 2009-491, § 

6] 

 

Any person Makes a false affidavit, or knowingly swears or 

affirms falsely, to any matter or thing required to be 

affirmed to or be sworn to by terms of G.S. § 20-

37.14A. (Prohibit issuance/renewal of CDL with P 

or S endorsement to person required to register). 

Class I felony 

 

12. Registration Procedures for Juveniles 
 

12.1 Juveniles Transferred to and Convicted in Superior Court  
G.S. § 14-208.6B 

 

A juvenile transferred to superior court pursuant to G.S. § 7B-2200 or § 7B-2200.5 who is convicted 

of a “sexually violent offense” or an “offense against a minor” must register IN PERSON just as an 

adult convicted of the same offense must register.  The effective date for this provision is April 1, 

1998.  (Session Law 1997-516 does not specify whether the offense date, date of conviction, or another 

triggering event must occur on or after April 1, 1998.  At the very least, it applies to offenses 

COMMITTED on or after that date.) 

 

12.2 Juveniles Adjudicated Delinquent 
 

Some juveniles adjudicated delinquent in North Carolina are subject to the registry laws. 

 

12.2.1 Registration Requirement  
G.S. §§ 7B-2509, 14-208.26 [S.L. 1997-516; S.L. 1999-363] 
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Whenever a juvenile, who is at least eleven (11) years-of-age at the time of the commission of the 

offense, is adjudicated delinquent for one of the offenses listed below, the court shall consider whether 

the juvenile is a danger to the community. 

 

G.S. § 14-27.21 First Degree Forcible Rape 

G.S. § 14-27.22 Second Degree Forcible Rape 

G.S. § 14-27.24 First Degree Statutory Rape 

G.S. § 14-27.26 First Degree Forcible Sexual Offense  

G.S. § 14-27.27  Second Degree Forcible Sexual Offense 

G.S. § 14-27.29  First Degree Statutory Sexual Offense 

Former G.S. § 14-27.2  First Degree Rape 

Former G.S. § 14-27.3  Second Degree Rape 

Former G.S. § 14-27.4  First Degree Sexual Offense 

Former G.S. § 14-27.5  Second Degree Sexual Offense 

Former G.S. § 14-27.6 Attempted Rape/Sexual Offense 

 

This also includes the attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation of another to commit any of the preceding 

offenses, and, aiding and abetting of any of the preceding offenses. 

 

If the presiding judge determines the juvenile is a danger to the community, the court must then 

consider whether the juvenile should be required to register with the county sheriff.  

 

A juvenile may only be required to register if the court first determines the juvenile is a danger to the 

community.  If the judge issues an order that the juvenile must register, the presiding judge shall 

conduct the notification procedures, as specified for adults.  The chief court counselor of that district 

must then file the registration information for the juvenile with the appropriate sheriff. 

 

12.2.2 Juveniles Moving Into North Carolina 
 

If there is a question about whether a juvenile that moves into North Carolina must maintain 

registration pursuant to any part of the North Carolina registry, an agency should contact its legal 

counsel.  However, because Part 4 of the registry provisions require an adjudication of only certain 

North Carolina offenses, registration on the juvenile registry generally is not required for a juvenile 

adjudicated in another state. 

 

12.2.3 Change of Address  
G.S. § 14-208.27 

 

If a juvenile, required to register, changes their place of residence, the juvenile’s court counselor must 

provide written notice of the new address, no later than the third business day after the address change, 

to the sheriff of the county with whom the juvenile last registered.  Upon receipt of this notice, the 

sheriff shall immediately forward this information to the CIIS.  If the juvenile moves to another county 

in North Carolina, the CIIS shall inform the sheriff of the new county of the juvenile’s new address.  

 

12.2.4 Verification of Information  
G.S. § 14-208.28 [S.L. 1997-516; S.L. 2006-247] 

 

Information provided to the sheriff must be verified for each juvenile registrant, as follows: 

 

1. Every year on the anniversary date of a juvenile’s initial registration date and six (6) months 
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after that date.  The sheriff shall mail a verification form to the juvenile’s assigned juvenile 

court counselor; 

 

2. The juvenile’s assigned juvenile court counselor shall return the verification form to the sheriff 

within 3 business days after receipt of the form; and 

 

3. The verification form shall be signed by both the juvenile court counselor and the juvenile and 

shall indicate whether the juvenile still resides at the address last reported to the sheriff.  If the 

juvenile has a different address, the new address shall be indicated on the form. 

 

12.2.5 Juvenile Registration Information is Not Public Record  
G.S. § 14-208.29 [S.L. 1997-516; S.L. 2008-117] 

 

Juvenile registration information is not public information and is not available for public inspection.  

The registration information of a juvenile offender must be maintained separately by the sheriff and 

released only to law enforcement agencies and local boards of education.  Under no circumstances 

shall the registration of a juvenile adjudicated delinquent be included in the county or statewide 

registries or be made available to the public via the Internet.  

 

12.2.6 Termination of Registration Requirement  
G.S. § 14-208.30 [S.L. 1997-516] 

 

The requirement that a juvenile register automatically terminates on the juvenile’s eighteenth 

(18th) birthday, or when the juvenile court’s jurisdiction with the juvenile ends, whichever 

comes first.  

 

13. County and Statewide Registries 
 

13.1 County Registry  
G.S. § 14-208.10 [S.L. 1995-545; S.L. 1997-516] 

 

13.1.1 Public Record 
 

The following information in a county registry regarding a person required to register is public record, 

and will be available for public inspection: 

 

1. Name; 

 

2. Sex; 

 

3. Address; 

 

4. Physical description; 

5. Picture; 

 

6. Conviction date; 

 

7. Offense for which registration was required; 
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8. Sentence imposed because of the conviction; and 

 

9. Registration status. 

 

A sheriff shall release any other relevant information that is necessary to protect the public concerning 

an offender but cannot release the identity of the victim of the registerable offense. 

 

13.1.2 Restricted Information 
 

Information regarding an offender’s medical records or documentation of treatment for the offender’s 

mental abnormality or personality disorder shall not be part of the public record. 

 

13.1.3 Public Access to Information 
 

Any person may obtain a copy of an offender’s registration form, a portion or all of the county registry, 

by submitting a written request to the sheriff.  Again, however, the identity of the victim cannot be 

released.  A sheriff may charge a reasonable fee for duplicating and mailing costs. 

 

13.2 Statewide Registry  
G.S. § 14-208.14 [S.L. 1997-516] 

 

The statewide registry shall include registration information: 

 

1. Obtained by a sheriff or penal institution under this Article or from any other local or State 

law enforcement agency; 

 

2. Received from a state or local law enforcement agency or penal institution in another 

state; and 

 

3. Received from a federal law enforcement agency or penal institution. 

 

13.2.1 Designated Custodian of Statewide Registry  
G.S. §§ 14-208.14, 14-208.15 

 

The CIIS will compile and maintain a current, central statewide sex offender registry. As custodian of 

the registry, the CIIS has the following responsibilities: 

 

1. To receive from any sheriff, law enforcement agency or penal institution all sex offender 

registrations, changes of address, changes of academic or educational employment status, and 

prerelease notifications required under this Article or under federal law.  The CIIS shall also 

receive notices of any violation of this Article, including a failure to register or a failure to 

report a change of address; 

 

2. To provide all need-to-know law enforcement agencies (local, state, or federal) immediately 

upon receipt of any of the following: registration information, a prerelease notification, a 

change of address, a change of academic or educational employment status, or notice of a 

violation of this Article; 

 
3. To notify the appropriate law enforcement unit at an institution of higher education as soon as 

possible upon receipt of relevant information based on registration information or notice of a 
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change of academic or educational employment status.  If the institution of higher education 

does not have a law enforcement unit, the CIIS shall provide the information to the local law 

enforcement agency that has jurisdiction for the campus;  

 

4. To coordinate efforts among law enforcement agencies and penal institutions to ensure that 

the registration information, changes of address, changes of name, prerelease notifications, 

and notices of failure to register or to report a change of address are conveyed in an appropriate 

and timely manner; 

 

5. To provide public access to the statewide registry and maintain the registry so that a 

registrant’s full name, any aliases, and any name changes are cross referenced; 

 
6. To maintain the system for public access so that a registrant’s full name, any aliases, and any 

legal name changes are cross-referenced and a member of the public may conduct a search of 

the system for a registrant under any of those names; and 

 

7. To maintain a system allowing an entity to access a list of online identifiers of persons in the 

central sex offender registry. 

 

13.2.2  Certain Statewide Registry Information is Public Record 
 

Public record information in the statewide registry is the same as that set out in the county registry.  

The CIIS will release any other relevant information necessary to protect the public concerning a 

specific offender but will not release the identity of a victim. 

 

13.2.3  Public Access to Information 
 

The CIIS will provide free public access to automated data from the statewide registry, including a 

photograph provided by the registering sheriff via the Internet.  The public will be able to access the 

statewide registry to view individual registration records, segments of the statewide registry, or all the 

statewide registry.  The CIIS will also provide copies of registry information to the public upon written 

request and may charge a reasonable fee for duplicating and mailing costs.  The Internet address for 

the statewide registry is: http://sexoffender.ncsbi.gov/  

 

13.2.4 Required Use of Registry Information  
 

1. Principals and Day Care Center Licensees G.S. § 14-208.19: The licensee for each licensed 

day care center and the principal of each elementary school, middle school, and high school 

shall register with the North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry to receive 

e-mail notification when a registered sex offender moves within a one-mile radius of the 

licensed day care center or school. 

 

2. Boards of Education and Contractual Personnel G.S. § 115C-332.1: Local boards of education 

shall prohibit any contractual personnel listed on the State Sex Offender and Public Protection 

Registries or the National Sex Offender Registry from having direct interaction with students.  

Each board of education shall require contractors to conduct an annual check of these registries 

to see if any of their employees whose jobs involves direct interaction with children are on 

these registries. 

 

3. Information on Juvenile Offenders Enrolled in Local Schools G.S. § 14-208.29: Registry 

http://sexoffender.ncsbi.gov/
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information for any juvenile enrolled in the local school administrative unit shall be forwarded 

to the local board of education. 

 

4. Higher Education G.S. § 14-208.15(c): If requested, the sheriff shall provide a report to 

institutions of higher education that discloses all registrants who have stated that they are a 

student or employee of that institution or expect to become a student or employee of that 

institution. 

 

13.2.5 Release of Online Identifiers  
G.S. § 14-208.15A 

 

CIIS may release registry information regarding a registered offender's online identifier to an entity 

for the purpose of allowing the entity to prescreen users or to compare the online identifier information 

with information held by the entity as provided by this section.  Entity is defined by G.S. § 14-208.6(1f) 

as a business or organization that provides Internet service, electronic communications service, remote 

computing service, online service, electronic mail service, or electronic instant message or chat services 

whether the business/organization is within or outside the State. 

 

CIIS may charge an annual fee of $100 for this service.  This information shall not be disclosed for 

any purpose other than for prescreening its users or comparing the database of registered users of the 

entity against the list of online identifiers of persons in the statewide registry. 
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Appendix I 
 

G.S. § 110-86 defines “child care” and “child care facility” as: 

 

Child care. — A program or arrangement where three or more children less than 13 years old, who do 

not reside where the care is provided, receive care on a regular basis of at least once per week for more 

than four hours but less than 24 hours per day from persons other than their guardians or full-time 

custodians, or from persons not related to them by birth, marriage, or adoption. Child care does not 

include the following: 

 

1. Arrangements operated in the home of any child receiving care if all of the children in care are 

related to each other and no more than two additional children are in care; 

 

2. Recreational programs operated for less than four consecutive months in a year; 

 

3. Specialized activities or instruction such as athletics, dance, art, music lessons, horseback 

riding, gymnastics, or organized clubs for children, such as Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, 4-H 

groups, or boys and girls clubs; 

 

4. Drop-in or short-term care provided while parents participate in activities that are not 

employment related and where the parents are on the premises or otherwise easily accessible, 

such as drop-in or short-term care provided in health spas, bowling alleys, shopping malls, 

resort hotels, or churches;  

 

5. Drop-in or short-term care provided by an employer for its part-time employees where (i) the 

child is provided care not to exceed two and one-half hours during that day, (ii) the parents are 

on the premises, and (iii) there are no more than 25 children in any one group in any one room; 

 

6. Public schools; 

 

7. Nonpublic schools described in Part 2 of Article 39 of Chapter 115C of the General Statutes 

that are accredited by national or regional accrediting agencies with early childhood standards 

and that operate (i) a child care facility as defined in subdivision (3) of this section for less 

than six and one-half hours per day either on or off the school site or (ii) a child care facility 

for more than six and one-half hours per day, but do not receive NC Pre-K or child care subsidy 

funding; 

 

8. Bible schools conducted during vacation periods; 

 

9. Care provided by facilities licensed under Article 2 of Chapter 122C of the General Statutes; 

 

10. Cooperative arrangements among parents to provide care for their own children as a 

convenience rather than for employment; 

 

11. Any childcare program or arrangement consisting of two or more separate components, each 

of which operates for four hours or less per day with different children attending each 

component; and 

 

12. Track-out programs provided to school-age children when they are out of school on a year-

round school calendar. 
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Childcare facility. – Includes child care centers, family child care homes, and any other child care 

arrangement not excluded by G.S. § 110-86(2), that provides child care, regardless of the time of day, 

wherever operated, and whether or not operated for profit. 

 

A child care center is an arrangement where, at any one time, there are three or more preschool-age 

children or nine or more school-age children receiving child care. 

 

A family child care home is a child care arrangement located in a residence where, at any one time, 

more than two children, but less than 10 children, receive child care, provided the arrangement is in 

accordance with G.S. § 110-91(7)b. 
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Appendix II 
 

Pursuant to G.S. § 14-208.18, persons required to register who have committed either: 

 

1. An offense under Article 7B of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes; or 

 

2. An offense where the victim was under the age of 18 years at the time of offense are 

prohibited from many premises that are regularly used by children; or 

 

3. First, second, or third degree sexual exploitation of a minor (or substantially similar federal offenses 

or substantially similar offenses in another state), even if the victim in the case was not a minor 

(such as an undercover law enforcement officer posing as a minor).  (See Section 8.10 “Certain 

Offenders Prohibited from Protected Locations” of this publication for more  information.) 

 

North Carolina Article 7B Offenses 

A person required to register who has committed any of the following offenses is prohibited from going onto the premises described in 

Section 8.10 of this publication regardless of the age of the victim. 

Former 14-27.2 First Degree Rape 

Former 14-27.2A Rape of a Child; Adult Offender 

Former 14-27.3 Second Degree Rape 

Former 14-27.4 First Degree Sexual Offense 

Former 14-27.4A Sexual Offense with a child; adult offender 

Former 14-27.5 Second Degree Sexual Offense 

Former 14-27.5A Sexual Battery 

Former 14-27.6 Attempted Rape or Sexual Offense (Repealed in 1994) 

Former 14-27.7 Intercourse and Sexual Offense with Certain Victims 

Former 14-27.7A(a) Statutory Rape or Sexual Offense of a Person Who is 13, 14, or 15 Years -Of-Age, Where the 

Defendant is at Least Six (6) Years Older 

14-27.21 First Degree Forcible Rape  

14-27.22 Second Degree Forcible Rape 

14-27.23 Statutory Rape of a Child; Adult Offender 

14-27.24 First Degree Statutory Rape 

14-27.25(a) Statutory Rape of victim 15 years old or younger by defendant at least 6 years older than victim  

14-27.26 First Degree Forcible Sexual Offense 

14-27.27 Second Degree Forcible Sexual Offense 

14-27.28 Statutory Sexual Offense with a child by an Adult 



North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association       Sex Offender Registration in North Carolina            March 2024 
       

Page 39 of 39 

14-27.29 First Degree Statutory Sexual Offense 

14-27.30(a) Statutory Sexual Offense of victim 15 years old or younger by defendant at least 6 years older 

than victim  

14-27.31 Sexual Activity by a Substitute Parent or Custodian  

14-27.32 Sexual Activity with a Student 

14-27.33 Sexual Battery 

14-27.33A Sexual Contact or Penetration Under Pretext of Medical Treatment 

North Carolina Sexual Exploitation of a Minor Offenses 

A person required to register who has committed any of the following sexual exploitation of a minor offenses (or 

substantially similar federal offenses, or substantially similar offenses in another state) is prohibited from going onto the 

premises described in Section 8.10 of this publication, even if the victim was not a minor. 

14-190.16 First Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor 

14-190.17 Second Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor 

14-190.17A Third Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor 

 

Other North Carolina Offenses 

If a person required to register has not committed a North Carolina offense that is listed in the previous chart, the 

person will be prohibited from going onto the premises described in Section 8.10 of this publication if the person has 

committed a North Carolina offense in which the victim was under the age of 18 at the time of offense.   Research 

must be done to determine the actual age(s) of the offender’s victim(s) at the time of the offense(s)  

 

Offenses from Other Jurisdictions 

Neither a conviction from another state nor a federal conviction will qualify as an Article 7B offense.  Thus, offenders 

not convicted in a North Carolina court, will be prohibited from going onto the premises described in Section 8.10 of 

this publication only if the person has committed an offense in which the victim was under the age of 18 years at the 

time of offense or the offense is substantially similar to an Article 7B or sexual exploitation of a minor offense listed 

above.  Unless the offense in the other state is substantially similar to the above Article 7B or sexual exploitation of 

a minor offenses, the age of the victim must be ascertained in order to determine whether the offender is prohibited.  

If the statute clearly has an element requiring the victim to be under the age of 18 years old, then the offender is 

prohibited.  If the statute does not have such a requirement, then research must be done to determine the actual age(s) 

of the offender’s victim(s) at the time of the offense(s).  

 

Offenses involving Aiding & Abetting, Attempt, Conspiracy, and Solicitation 

Must analyze underlying offense and age of victim similarly to above.  

 

 


